The 1978 Academy Awards®
Host: Johnny Carson
Date: April 9, 1979

Best Picture
Coming Home
The Deer Hunter
Heaven Can Wait
Midnight Express
An Unmarried Woman

Best Director
Woody Allen, Interiors
Hal Ashby, Coming Home
Warren Beatty and Buck Henry, Heaven Can Wait
Michael Cimino, The Deer Hunter--winner
Alan Parker, Midnight Express

Best Actor
Warren Beatty, Heaven Can Wait
Gary Busey, The Buddy Holly Story
Robert De Niro, The Deer Hunter
Laurence Olivier, The Boys from Brazil
Jon Voight, Coming Home--winner

Best Actress
Ingrid Bergman, Höstsonaten
Ellen Burstyn, Same Time, Next Year
Jill Clayburgh, An Unmarried Woman
Jane Fonda, Coming Home--winner
Geraldine Page, Interiors

Best Supporting Actor
Bruce Dern, Coming Home
Richard Farnsworth, Comes a Horseman
John Hurt, Midnight Express
Christopher Walken, The Deer Hunter--winner
Jack Warden, Heaven Can Wait

Best Supporting Actress
Dyan Cannon, Heaven Can Wait
Penelope Milford, Coming Home
Maggie Smith, California Suite--winner
Maureen Stapleton, Interiors
Meryl Streep, The Deer Hunter

Best Foreign Language Film
Coming Home (Hal Ashby)

Best Original Screenplay
Coming Home (Hal Ashby)--winner
The Deer Hunter (Michael Cimino, Deric Washburn, Louis Garfinkle, Quinn K. Redeker)
Höstsonaten (Ingmar Bergman)
Interiors (Woody Allen)
An Unmarried Woman (Paul Mazursky)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Bloodbrothers (Walter Newman)
California Suite (Neil Simon)
Heaven Can Wait (Elaine May, Warren Beatty)
Midnight Express (Oliver Stone)--winner
Same Time, Next Year (Bernard Slade)

Best Original Score
The Boys from Brazil (Jerry Goldsmith)
Days of Heaven (Ennio Morricone)
Heaven Can Wait (Dave Grusin)
Midnight Express (Giorgio Moroder)--winner
Superman (John Williams)

Best Cinematography
Days of Heaven (Néstor Almendros)--winner
The Deer Hunter (Vilmos Zsigmond)
Heaven Can Wait (William A. Fraker)
Same Time, Next Year (Robert Surtees)
The Wiz (Oswald Morris)

Other Categories:

Best Art Direction-Set Decoration
Heaven Can Wait (Paul Sylbert, Edwin O'Donovan, George Gaines)

Best Costume Design
Death on the Nile (Anthony Powell)

Best Film Editing
The Deer Hunter (Peter Zinner)

Best Visual Effects (given as a Special Achievement Award)
Superman (Les Bowie, Colin Chilvers, Denys N. Coop, Roy Field, Derek Meddings, Zoran Perisic)

Best Sound
The Deer Hunter (Richard Portman, William L. McCaughey, Aaron Rochin, C. Darin Knight)

Best Original Song
Thank God It's Friday, for the song "Last Dance," written by Paul Jabara

Best Original Song Score/Best Adaptation Score
The Buddy Holly Story (Joe Renzetti)

Best Animated Short Film
Special Delivery (Eunice Macaulay, John Weldon)

Best Live Action Short Film
Teenage Father (Taylor Hackford)

Best Documentary, Short Subject
The Flight of the Gossamer Condor (Jacqueline Phillips Shedd, Ben Shedd)

Best Documentary, Feature
Scared Straight! (Arnold Shapiro)

  Academy Awards® Index

® Academy Award(s) and Oscar(s) are registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.