The 1984 Academy Awards®
Host: Jack Lemmon
Date: March 25, 1985

Best Picture
The Killing Fields
A Passage to India
Places in the Heart
A Soldier's Story

Best Director
Woody Allen, Broadway Danny Rose
Robert Benton, Places in the Heart
Milos Forman, Amadeus--winner
Roland Joffé, The Killing Fields
David Lean, A Passage to India

Best Actor
F. Murray Abraham, Amadeus--winner
Jeff Bridges, Starman
Albert Finney, Under the Volcano
Tom Hulce, Amadeus
Sam Waterston, The Killing Fields

Best Actress
Judy Davis, A Passage to India
Sally Field, Places in the Heart--winner
Jessica Lange, Country
Sissy Spacek, The River
Vanessa Redgrave, The Bostonians

Best Supporting Actor
Adolph Caesar, A Soldier's Story
John Malkovich, Places in the Heart
Pat Morita, The Next Karate Kid
Haing S. Ngor, The Killing Fields--winner
Ralph Richardson, Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes

Best Supporting Actress
Peggy Ashcroft, A Passage to India--winner
Glenn Close, The Natural
Lindsay Crouse, Places in the Heart
Christine Lahti, Swing Shift
Geraldine Page, The Pope of Greenwich Village

Best Foreign Language Film
Camila (Argentina)
La diagonale du fou (Switzerland)--winner
Me'Ahorei Hasoragim (Israel)
Sesión continua (Spain)
Voyenno-polevoj roman (Soviet Union)

Best Original Screenplay
Beverly Hills Cop (Daniel Petrie Jr., Danilo Bach)
Broadway Danny Rose (Woody Allen)
El Norte (Gregory Nava, Anna Thomas)
Places in the Heart (Robert Benton)--winner
Splash (Lowell Ganz, Babaloo Mandel, Bruce Jay Friedman, Brian Glazer)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Amadeus (Peter Shaffer)--winner
Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes (Robert Towne, Michael Austin)
The Killing Fields (Bruce Robinson)
A Passage to India (David Lean)
A Soldier's Story (Charles Fuller)

Best Original Score
Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (John Williams)
The Natural (Randy Newman)
A Passage to India (Maurice Jarre)--winner
The River (John Williams)
Under the Volcano (Alex North)

Best Cinematography
Amadeus (Miroslav Ondrícek)
The Killing Fields (Chris Menges)--winner
The Natural (Caleb Deschanel)
A Passage to India (Ernest Day)
The River (Vilmos Zsigmond)

Other Categories:

Best Art Direction-Set Decoration
Amadeus (Patrizia von Brandenstein, Karel Cerny)

Best Costume Design
Amadeus (Theodor Pistek)

Best Makeup
Amadeus (Paul LeBlanc, Dick Smith)

Best Film Editing
The Killing Fields (Jim Clark)

Best Visual Effects
Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (Dennis Muren, Michael J. McAlister, Lorne Peterson, George Gibbs)

Best Sound
Amadeus (Mark Berger, Thomas Scott, Todd Boekelheide, Christopher Newman)

Best Sound Effects Editing (given as a Special Achievement Award)
The River (Kay Rose)

Best Original Song
The Woman in Red, for the song "I Just Called to Say I Love You," written by Stevie Wonder.

Best Original Song Score
Purple Rain (Prince)

Best Animated Short Film
Charade (John Minnis)

Best Live Action Short Film
Up (Mike Hoover)

Best Documentary, Short Subject
The Stone Carvers (Marjorie Hunt, Paul Wagner)

Best Documentary, Feature
The Times of Harvey Milk (Robert Epstein, Richard Schmeichen)

  Academy Awards® Index

® Academy Award(s) and Oscar(s) are registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.