The 1985 Academy Awards®
Host: Alan Alda, Jane Fonda, Robin Williams
Date: March 24, 1986

Best Picture
The Color Purple
Kiss of the Spider Woman
Out of Africa
Prizzi's Honor

Best Director
Hector Babenco, Kiss of the Spider Woman
John Huston, Prizzi's Honor
Akira Kurosawa, Ran
Sydney Pollack, Out of Africa--winner
Peter Weir, Witness

Best Actor
Harrison Ford, Witness
James Garner, Murphy's Romance
William Hurt, Kiss of the Spider Woman--winner
Jack Nicholson, Prizzi's Honor
Jon Voight, Runaway Train

Best Actress
Anne Bancroft, Agnes of God
Whoopi Goldberg, The Color Purple
Jessica Lange, Sweet Dreams
Geraldine Page, The Trip to Bountiful--winner
Meryl Streep, Out of Africa

Best Supporting Actor
Don Ameche, Cocoon--winner
Klaus Maria Brandauer, Out of Africa
William Hickey, Prizzi's Honor
Robert Loggia, Jagged Edge
Eric Roberts, Runaway Train

Best Supporting Actress
Margaret Avery, The Color Purple
Anjelica Huston, Prizzi's Honor--winner
Amy Madigan, Twice in a Lifetime
Meg Tilly, Agnes of God
Oprah Winfrey, The Color Purple

Best Foreign Language Film
Bittere Ernte (West Germany)
La historia oficial (Argentina)--winner
Oberst Redl (Hungary)
Otac na sluzbenom putu (Yugoslavia)
Trois hommes et un couffin (France)

Best Original Screenplay
Back to the Future (Robert Zemeckis, Bob Gale)
Brazil (Terry Gilliam, Tom Stoppard, Charles McKeown)
La historia oficial (Luis Puenzo, Aída Bortnik)
The Purple Rose of Cairo (Woody Allen)
Witness (William Kelley, Pamela Wallace, Earl Wallace)--winner

Best Adapted Screenplay
The Color Purple (Menno Meyjes)
Kiss of the Spider Woman (Leonard Schrader)
Out of Africa (Kurt Luedtke)--winner
Prizzi's Honor (Richard Condon, Janet Roach)
The Trip to Bountiful (Horton Foote)

Best Original Score
Agnes of God (Georges Delerue)
The Color Purple (Quincy Jones, Jeremy Lubbock, Rod Temperton, Caiphus Semenya, Andraé Crouch, Chris Boardman, Jorge Calandrelli, Joel Rosenbaum, Fred Steiner, Jack Hayes, Jerry Hey, Randy Kerber)
Out of Africa (John Barry)--winner
Silverado (Bruce Broughton)
Witness (Maurice Jarre)

Best Cinematography
The Color Purple (Allen Daviau)
Murphy's Romance (William A. Fraker)
Out of Africa (David Watkin)--winner
Ran (Takao Saitô, Masaharu Ueda, Asakazu Nakai)
Witness (John Seale)

Other Categories:

Best Art Direction-Set Decoration
Out of Africa (Stephen B. Grimes, Josie MacAvin)

Best Costume Design
Ran (Emi Wada)

Best Makeup
Mask (Michael Westmore, Zoltan Elek)

Best Film Editing
Witness (Thom Noble)

Best Visual Effects
Cocoon (Ken Ralston, Ralph McQuarrie, Scott Farrar, David Barry)

Best Sound
Out of Africa (Chris Jenkins, Gary Alexander, Larry Stensvold, Peter Handford)

Best Sound Effects Editing
Back to the Future (Charles L. Campbell, Robert R. Rutledge)

Best Original Song
White Nights, for the song "Say You, Say Me," written by Lionel Richie.

Best Animated Short Film
Anna & Bella (Cilia Van Dijk)

Best Live Action Short Film
Molly's Pilgrim (Jeff Brown)

Best Documentary, Short Subject
Witness to War: Dr. Charlie Clements (David H. Goodman)

Best Documentary, Feature
Broken Rainbow (Maria Florio, Victoria Mudd)

  Academy Awards® Index

® Academy Award(s) and Oscar(s) are registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.